Mind Split = Siamese Twins

MIND SPLIT = SIAMESE TWINS negotiates the state where objects are not yet identified. Through this work, there is a strong relation with Friedrich Nietzsche’s early philosophical work found in ’The Birth of Tragedy’ (1872) where Nietzsche is concerned with the Apolline and the Dionysiac stances. In this performance, there is a consequent affiliation with information and noise. The core of this research comes from autobiographical narratives that are transposed into metaphors that hold a mythical but also a literal imagery. The work studies the fundamental nature of an artwork as a hybrid body that consists both Apolline and Dionysiac cultures inside one another. In other words, this work is less of a mind split and more likesiamese-twins.

Keywords: Hydra, Dithyramb, Serpent and Lily, loops, noise, rituals, Apollo, Dionysos, Friedrich Nietzsche, horse, John Cage, Minotaur, womb

previous arrow
next arrow

direction, dramaturgy and performance with Dithyramb
Nicolina Stylianou (Live Art and Performance Studies, MA thesis artistic project)

performance dramaturgy as MC Friedrich 
Louna-Tuuli Luukka (EDma)

sound design and performance
Jouni Ilari Tapio (Äma)

movement performance with Hydra
Suvi Tuominen (LAPS)

performance with Serpent and Lily and Dithyramb
Riikka Talvitie (DocMus)

production manager
Maria Kaihovirta

stage manager
Heli Litmanen

light design
Aleksi Karjalainen

costume development
Anne Lehto

captured by
Julius Töyrylä

Tero Nauha
George Themistokleous
Gregoire Rousseau

supported by
Theatre Academy – University of the Arts Helsinki

special thanks to Kone Foundation for contributing to the future of MIND SPLIT = SIAMESE TWINS research.

Special thanks to Elena Stylianou, Constantinos Stylianou, Myria Stylianou, Constantinos Groutides, Maria Georgiou, Marios Messios, Annita Haliou, Andrea Hnicola, Aphrodite Koupepidou Dagmar I. Glausnitzer-Smith, Gilivanka Kedzior, Christina Georgiou, Hanna Käyhkö, Heikki Laakso, Marja Zilcher, Vesa Rämä, Lauri Lyllylahti, Jyrki Oksaharju, Krisjanis Rijnieks, Soufïa Bensaïd, Jani-Petteri Olkkonen, Eero – Tapio Vuori, Angeliki Chaido Tsoli, Karoliina Loimaala, Taru Aho, Tuomas Laitinen, Ivana Momčilović, and Karolina Kucia.